Just to Make Things Complicated

They switched our phone system at work. The new phone system requires us to dial “8” to get an outside line. Eight. Not nine, Eight. Every other phone system in the entire universe requires you to dial 9. Why did this phone company choose eight? Did someone get a patent or a copyright on 9? Or was this company just trying to be different? Are they trying to be hip and cool? Avant-garde? Ooooooh, y’all are soooooooo cooool, because you picked 8 instead of 9 . You guys are soooooooooo, like, un-mainstream. You’re really sticking it to the man, dudes.

Every time I pick up my phone I dial 9. This has been going on for about a week. Every time. I think once maybe I remembered to hit 8 first, but every single other time I have first hit 9. Do I think I will ever learn to use 8? Probably not. And even if I do, the next time I’m using a normal phone where you have to dial nine, I will inevitably first hit 8. Jerks.

1 Comment »

  1. 1
    awfeck Says:

    Every time you hear “SHIT!” or “god DAMN it!” coming from my cubicle, you can know with utmost certainty that it’s because I’ve just dialed 9.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

