Conspiracy Theory

So… today I got an email forward.  I know that it was forwarded with the best of intentions.  I never send these on, but sometimes feel guilty for not, because maybe I should participate in "warning" people.  But part of me thinks this type of thing is fake, and the reason for sending them is to scare women.  Why?  If we're scared, we're immobilized.  If it's not safe to go to the gas station or the grocery store or the mall parking lot, or drive on roads, or whatever the latest forward is warning us about, what are we supposed to do?  I'll tell you. Just go home and sit.  And rot.  It makes me want to scream and cry and claw at my skin. It makes me angry.  A lot of times if we get angry about things like this, women are called "angry feminists."  Well… yeah.  Wouldn't you be mad? 

I know it really is pretty damn unsafe for women to be out and about at night, and frankly, even during the day.  I can tell you some really sketchy things that have happened to me personally, and to women I know.  But part of me wants to call bullshit on these "warning" forwards.  And whether they're true or not, the whole racket still royally pisses me off.  Because either way we have to constantly be on guard.  It's exhausting. 

Anyway, here's the forward.  

IMPORTANT PLEASE READ
 
A friend stopped at a pay-at-the-pump gas station to get gas. Once she filled her gas tank and after paying at the pump and starting to leave, the voice of the attendant inside came over the speaker. He told her that something happened with her card and that she needed to come inside to pay. The lady was confused because the transaction showed complete and approved. She relayed that to him and was getting ready to leave but the attendant, once again, urged her to come in to pay or there'd be trouble. She proceeded to go inside and started arguing with the attendant about his threat. He told her to calm down and listen carefully:
 
He said that while she was pumping gas, a guy slipped into the back seat of her car on the other side and the attendant had already called the police.
 
She became frightened and looked out in time to see her car door open and the guy slip out. The report is that the new gang initiation thing is to bring back a woman and/or her car.. One way they are doing this is crawling under women's cars while they're pumping gas or at grocery stores in the nighttime. The other way is slipping into unattended cars and kidnapping the women.
 
Please pass this on to other women, young and old alike. Be extra careful going to and from your car at night. If at all possible, don't go alone! This is real!!
 
The message:
 
1. ALWAYS lock your car doors, even if you're gone for just a second!
 
2. Check underneath your car when approaching it for reentry, and check in the back before getting in.
 
3. Always be aware of your surroundings and of other individuals in your general vicinity, particularly at night!
 
Send this to everyone so your friends can take precaution.
 
AND GUYS…YOU TELL ANY WOMEN YOU KNOW ABOUT THIS Thanks,
 
Barbara Baker, Secretary Directorate of Training U.S. Army Military Police School
 
THIS IS TOO SERIOUS … DO NOT DELETE PLEASE PASS IT ON!!

I get this type of thing ALL THE TIME.  And I'm always like, THIS FUCKING SUCKS.  Maybe this is happening; probably not.  In any case, it's really hard to go through life always looking over your shoulder.  Always fearing you'll be one of those "one out of three" women who gets raped.  It's so fucking inconvenient to be a woman, because sometimes I might want to go runing through my neighborhood at dusk, or ride my bike somewhere, or go pick up some groceries at 11PM, or maybe I'm about to run out of gas, but it's dark outside.  And I can't do any of those things, and if I do, I have to be nervous the whole time, so I can't enjoy it anyway.

Are these things made up to keep us at home? To make us depend on men?  To depend on men but also fear men? How are we supposed to know what to do, where to go, who to trust?  Call me what you will, but it makes me angry, and I won't apologize for that.
 

2 Comments »

  1. 1
    atkeith Says:

    I was noticing that most nasty criminals are white men. I have had sketchy things happen to me too and I know for a fact that the forward is an urban legend, been around forever because my dad told it to me when I was a teenager and I believed it then. However, the tips they give are good tips and after my dad told me that story, I have totally checked my backseat before getting into my car. I don’t live in fear because of it but it does seem like everyday there’s a new reason to be paranoid. Being a girl really does have its disadvantages but I rather be a girl then a white guy mistaken for a criminal.

  2. 2
    joanna Says:

    don’t get angry marcy…get a gun! 🙂

    (only joking…sorta…maybe just mace…or a black belt…or something)


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

