My Cosmic Autumn Rebellion

That's a badass title, isn't it?  Well… I wish I could take credit, but I can't.  It's a song title from the Flaming Lips' new album, "At War With The Mystics." I heard a segment about it, including some clips, on KCRW this morning, and I am absolutely peeing myself to get my hands on it.  It's been a long time since I've been this excited about a new album from any musician.  I've been reading about it on the Flaming Lips website all morning, and what Wayne (the lead singer) has written about each song is passionate and inspiring and makes me want to laugh and cry and live and love and eat big meals at big tables with my big Italian family (oh… no, wait, that's my imagination running away again).  But I'm telling you it's pure passion in music, like life in a bottle, and music this good just makes you want to LIVE, DAMN IT, LIVE!  And I haven't even heard the songs all the way through yet.  All I know is I'm in love with music again, and it feels so damn good.

2 Comments »

  1. 1

    The album is no-doubt worthy of urine in pants. Also, the entire thing is streaming on their website, in case you didn’t know. Still, it’s a good idea to buy a copy.

  2. 2
    Annie Says:

    I’m thinking of going to see them play in Hamburg while I’m in Germany. It’s a drive from Berlin, but that could be cool.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

