A Frosty Root Beer Day

Yesterday was a Frosty Root Beer day.  You may think that is a good thing, but you are unfortunately mistaken. 

A while back my boss sent an email to my department at work asking us to refrain from loudly complaining about our clients after getting off the phone with them.  He said something along the lines of, "If you need to blow off some steam, go into the kitchen with someone, get a frosty root beer, and get it off your chest."  Well, we’re all still making jokes about the frosty root beer comment, and yesterday I needed a frosty root beer like Bob Saget needs a new job that doesn’t involve him trying to be funny.

It started in the car on the way to work.  I was running late, and every lane I chose suddenly became the lane that was completely stopped while cars in all of the other lanes were zooming past me, a-la that scene at the beginning of the movie Office Space. Classic.

I was listening to NPR, which I should never do in a bad mood, and when I heard about the bill congress is trying to pass that involves huge education budget cuts, I got so angry that I could literally feel my blood pressure rising to the level of an old, fat man who smokes 2 packs a day.  It was at this moment that my red light turned green, and the lane next to me began merrily tooling through the green light, while the 3 or 4 cars in front of me just.   sat.    there.   and.   sat.    and.    sat.    and.  sat.    there.  I yelled and moaned in despair and rage, and finally lay on my horn out of dire frustration, and at last, the guy in front decided that yes, he did want to get where he was going, so we could all now proceed through the now-turning-yellow-again light.

At this point in my journey I began to take stock of my situation, and did some analysis as to why I was feeling more irritable than a three-year-old whose 7-year-old brother is repeatedly flicking her in the back of the head, while dangling her favorite doll by its hair just out of reach.  I called up my mental wall calendar, which this month features rainbows and hot air balloons on a sky-blue background with fluffly clouds, all late-70s style.  October’s mental calendar was unicorns on a sparkly night sky, also rather 70s-elicious.  Anyway, I realized that yes, I am in the absolute crux of PMS.  This explains a lot.  However, it seems as though the universe knew that I was already experiencing a monstrous level of irritability yesterday and decided to pick on me like the afore-mentioned 7-year-old big brother, because when I got to work, the annoyance only got worse.

The second client I spoke to was so rude, SO rude, for absolutely no reason whatsoever.  She is one of those people who is determined to always be blaming someone for something, and the whole time I talked to her she kept cutting me off and just being an absolute witchy woman.  When I hung up I shouted, "Y’all, I need a frosty root beer SO BAD!"

After that, things slowly began to improve.  I didn’t get a frosty root beer, but I ate some Halloween candy, which made me feel both better and guilty, and later had a delicious lunch, which boosted my spirits considerably. Today has started out much better, and I have high hopes for a Frosty Root Beer-free weekend.  I’ll keep you posted. (Lucky you)!

1 Comment »

  1. 1
    Cash Says:

    as-94783-sa

    nice blog.. i ll come back again :] greets


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

