Wha… ???

Last weekend was the second weekend of my August & September Travel-athon.  It works great because I get Mondays off, so long weekends are easy to plan.  This time I was in Charleston, South Carolina, with 5 of my girl friends from high school.  The weekend was fantastic — relaxing, fun, much eating, drinking, and merriment had by all.  But I think the most important thing for you to know is this:

Saturday after a delicious lunch (including fried green tomatoes, black-eyed pea fritters, and sweet tea! yay!) we were walking around in downtown Charleston, and encountered a middle-aged couple walking leisurely toward us.  My friend Elise stopped them as they approached and politely asked if they wouldn’t mind taking our picture.  The husband hesitatingly reached toward the camera, then suddenly got a pained expression on his face, pulled his hand back and said, "I’d rather not."

"You’d… rather not?" 

"I’d rather not."

And there it was.  The six of us stood without moving or breathing, our mouths hanging open, just staring at him with a mix of horror and fascination.  I looked from him to his wife, and she nodded in agreement.  They would rather not. 

They kept walking, and we kept standing there.  After about 10 stunned hours of open-mouthed, wide-eyed, eyebrows-raised silence, we slowly started moving forward; then at once we all burst out with questions.  Did that really just happen?  Has that ever happened before in Earth’s history?  Are we really in the South?  Aren’t people supposed to be friendly here?  Did that really just happen?  REALLY?  And most importantly, why???  We all agreed that times when people refuse to take pictures are rare, and when these rare instances do occur, the person always provides some sort of explanation.  Examples are: "Oh, sorry, I’m really in a hurry," or, "OH, you don’t want me to take that, I always ruin pictures.  I can’t take a good picture to save my life," or, "OH no, sorry, I’m really drunk."

But "I’d rather not?"  We tried to come up with possible scenarios to explain their behavior, but we just couldn’t.  The behavior is unexplainable.  It is an unsolved mystery.

Shortly after we walked away, I realized I should have snapped their picture, just to throw them off.  Why do my genius ideas always come a minute too late?

1 Comment »

  1. 1
    Scott Says:

    ppp-wwAAAhahahahahah! I cannot believe that! Maybe the couple lost a son once. Yeah yeah yeah! They were all at Disney world, little Jimmy Smithers had just gotten an ice cream cone. Some friendly Chinese tourists asked the man to take their picture, and while he and the wife took it, little Jimmy fell in the fountain next to the Land of Imagination and died.
    So really, Marcy, can you blame them?


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

